My Health

I know my wife is interested in this topic!

My health has been fantastic. Walking 8 to 10 hours a day had reduced my morning blood sugar levels to an average of 110, even with eating everything and drinking beer/wine. 100 is perfect for a normal person.

I check my levels on the Camino constantly and have never had them go below 100 even with some of the strenuous mountain climbs I’ve done.

I got a blister when I got to Pamplona (3rd Stage) and it pissed me off to no end. I went to the neighborhood National Health Clinic, showed them my Passport and Kaiser card and was seen within 20 minutes. An EMT nurse lanced my blister and drained it of fluid. It hurt.

I’ve been walking with the blister now for three days and it doesn’t bother me unless I step on a stone in the exact spot of the blister. It’s filling up with fluid but I figure I’ll wait till it hurts to drain it myself again.

At the end of each stage I do feel some slight shoulder and back pain but that’s normal and a hot shower fixes me up fine.

God willing my health will continue to be good.

6 thoughts on “My Health

    • Son cosas del Camino.

      I’ve had to have done it 4 times since and will have to do it this morning again. Yes, it hurts but it’s the only way to get the pus out and avoid an infection.

      It’s amazing what you and your body can do once you put your mind to it.

Leave a Reply

