Arrival in Santiago – Happy Independence Day!!!

It is with great joy that I arrived in Santiago de Compostela on the 4th of July!! The mix of emotions that I have right now is impossible to describe so I won’t even try.

The Cathedral here is a thing of great beauty and I will enjoy attending the Pilgrim Mass here on July 5th at Noon. Many pilgrims from all over the world will be there right along with me celebrating the Mass.

I give thanks to God, my fellow Peregrinos, especially all those that walked with me, and my family for providing all those small miracles that enabled me to reach Santiago safely and healthy.

The pictures that follow are of the Cathedral. The inside is just as impressive as the outside.

Michael

20130704-231653.jpg

20130704-232845.jpg

9 thoughts on “Arrival in Santiago – Happy Independence Day!!!

  1. Mike Congratulations on your trip!  We have been following along through each email and envisioning your sites through the emails.  I hope you enjoyed the trip and it brought you the feelings you were hoping.   Best. Ray & Jeanine. 

    • Ray and Jeanine, thank you for all of your support, not just on this trip but always. Your comments helped provide some of the fuel that propelled me all the way to Santiago! I look forward to our families getting together soon. Love, Michael

  2. Yes!!! Congratulations on your arrival! I’ve enjoyed every post, picture (and blister story) along your journey. Thank you for letting me follow along through your blog. Amazing. Safe travel back, and let’s celebrate with some single malt. Cindy

    • Cindy, It’s been my pleasure to share my pilgrimage with you and Bob. Little did I know when myself, Mario DiLeva and you talked about my plans at Mijares in South Pasadena how amazing my journey would be. I still have many, many, more stories and pictures and will be posting them during the down time that I have here in Spain before Alicia arrives on the 12th. For now my Galician friends, Sechu and Vicente, will be picking me up today to show me the sites that tourists do not see in Santiago and then they will be taking me to Finisterra (the end of the Earth) on Saturday. They’ve invited me to stay for as long as I want in Vigo (a beautiful city on the Coast in Galicia) and I plan on spending some time with them before going on to Bilbao and San Sebastián for some rest and recreation. Give my Love to Bob. Love, Michael

  3. Mabrouk! We congratulate you on this great achievement. There is a lot of Mabrouk on the streets of Egypt right now as you will discover when you get your hands on a newspaper. We are flying home early ..not because we feel unsafe but because we would rather be there than confined to campus until things settle down. Thank you for giving us the exact opposite of our personal “house arrest.” We have walked with you…enjoying the wonderful photos, meeting new people, feeling your awe and sense of wonder and watching your steady progress toward this goal you set for yourself. When you get back to L.A., you can give up adding to the smog of L.A. and walk just about anywhere. Have a great flight home.

    • Alicia told me last night when we talked about your plans and I’m very happy that you are flying home. I enjoyed hearing from you while on my pilgrimage and your comments helped keep my spirits up. I couldn’t have done this without the support of my friends and family.

      I will continue to post because I still have many, many, more stories and pictures and will be posting them during the down time that I have here in Spain before Alicia arrives on the 12th. For now my Galician friends, Sechu and Vicente, will be picking me up today to show me the sites that tourists do not see in Santiago and then they will be taking me to Finisterra (the end of the Earth) on Saturday. They’ve invited me to stay for as long as I want in Vigo (a beautiful city on the Coast in Galicia) and I plan on spending some time with them before going on to Bilbao and San Sebastián for some rest and recreation. Give my Love to Steve and stay safe! Love, Michael

    • Alicia told me last night when we talked about your plans and I’m very happy that you are flying home. I enjoyed hearing from you while on my pilgrimage and you comments helped keep my spirits up. I couldn’t have done this without the support of my friends and family.

      I will continue to post because I still have many, many, more stories and pictures and will be posting them during the down time that I have here in Spain before Alicia arrives on the 12th. For now my Galician friends, Sechu and Vicente, will be picking me up today to show me the sites that tourists do not see in Santiago and then they will be taking me to Finisterra (the end of the Earth) on Saturday. They’ve invited me to stay for as long as I want in Vigo (a beautiful city on the Coast in Galicia) and I plan on spending some time with them before going on to Bilbao and San Sebastián for some rest and recreation. Give my Love to Steve and stay safe! Love, Michael

  4. Hi Michael! Congratulations!! I’m glad to know you’re fine and you made it all the way to Santiago! I arrived in Santiago on monday and i am already home in Holland for two day’s. There were only a few times where i could use the intenet, so i didn’t had a chance to read all your blogs. But i will read them within a few days. For now, enjoy your stay in Spain, and have a good flight home later.
    It was a pleasure to meet you!

    Aryanne from the Netherlands

    • Hello Aryanne, Congratulations to you too!!! I know that you are fine and resting in Holland and that’s great. You’ll have a lot of reading to do while resting because I still have a lot of stages to post about with many, many more pictures to come. Michael

Leave a Reply

