I’ve Been Away Awhile

Me in front of the Monastery and Royal Abbey of Samos, located in Samos, Galicia

Me in front of the Monastery and Royal Abbey of Samos, located in Samos, Galicia

The beautiful Monastery and Royal Abbey of Samos

The beautiful Monastery and Royal Abbey at Samos

Things happen in life for no apparent reason at times and then later you learn why they happened at the way they did.

In my case I went on a pilgrimage in May of 2013 and started this blog to write about my experiences on the Camino Francés. When I came home in July of 2013 I decided that I needed to write a stage-by-stage account of my pilgrimage. So I began to collect my thoughts and pictures and write. At one point last year, for reasons unknown to me, my writing slowed down and it was as if I wanted to savor each moment. Maybe I thought that if I published a post it would put an end to the experience of my Camino.

Fast forward to this summer. I’ve recently come back from being a volunteer Hospitalero at the Monastery and Royal Abbey at Samos. It was a unbelievable experience where I came to appreciate more, if that was possible, the indomitable spirit of pilgrimage and those that serve others. Recently while having lunch with my in-laws my father-in-law asked me if I was going to write in my blog about my hospitalero experiences. My answer was that I wasn’t but now I’m not so sure.

Here’s why. I think that my stay and Samos and the fact that the last stage I wrote about in this blog was the stage that I visited Samos are not a mere coincidence. While a hospitalero this summer I spoke to and enjoyed meeting many peregrinos that were about the walk the very steps that I walked last year and haven’t yet written about in detail. Maybe that was part of some plan that I was not aware of but now it’s time to finish relating my experiences. I think I owe it to myself, to you my readers and to the 500 or so peregrinos that I met this summer. I remember that every morning when I would say goodbye to them, maybe with a hug and always with a “Buen Camino”, I saw them with their backpacks and walking sticks moving off in the morning mist and my heart wanted to go and walk with them.

Now is the time to walk those last 110 kilometers with them…

 

3 thoughts on “I’ve Been Away Awhile

Leave a Reply

